Recommended self-catering cottages near Hay-on-Wye
20140301_Trade 151_0278.jpg

Reviews

 
 

REVIEWS from our guest book

We had a fabulous week here. Superb accommodations. Everything provided and stunning views. David and Dorcas catered for us Saturday night which was great. We’ve been canoeing along the canal, helped pull out a dead sheep, had lovely walks from the house and around Hay. We’ll definitely look forward to coming back.” 

— THe cockayne family, june 2019

“Thank you Anna and family. Perfect hosts – amazing place. You have done an incredible job of renovating a building that needed TLC. We have all enjoyed the views and peace sooo much, we are coming back. We cannot fault the place or hosts – positively perfect!”

— THe WATSON GROUP, APril 2018

Meeting-House-in-snow.jpg

“What a lovely, comfortable homely house in such a beautiful setting. We had a family week of birthday celebrations as well as our Golden Wedding. Hay-on-Wye is unique – we could have spent several more days there – especially at Shepherds Ice Cream and Booth’s Bookshop. A lovely find for us was the Welsh Rarebit Centre at Defynnog, Brecon Beacons National Park. Our grand finale was our visit to the Brecon Steam Railway – scenic routes in bright, sunny spring weather (no rain all day!)”

— The white family, easter week 2018


"We stayed in Bryn Bwthyn in 2016 and were excited to return for another family gathering. The Meeting House was a lovely surprise upgrade. Really comfortable and well equipped with stunning views. Many thanks.”

— the howells family, february 2018


“Thank you for a wonderful stay! The house is amazing and we all loved it. We were here to celebrate a birthday as a family but there was also a surprise proposal of marriage as well. Lovely memories made.  Hope to come back soon.”

— the ting family, january 2018


“Thank you for a festive welcome. Everything we needed was here. We’ve had snowy, windy and sunny walks. We hope to come back in the future.”

— diving club group, new year 2017/8


“Thanks so much for a wonderful stay. Especially the generous hospitality including the arrival food and Christmas decorations, logs and the loan of sledges! We couldn’t have asked for more!”

— the haresign family, christmas 2017


“We all had a lovely time here. Great location and house. The dog loved it here also!”

— the langton group, november 2017


“Fantastic house. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Owners very accommodating. Hugely recommend.”

— sam’s 30th birthday, november 2017


“Another amazing time here again. Will be back again soon. Thank you x.”

— the owen family, november 2017


“What a lovely, cosy haven. We love the Meeting House and we’ll def be back! The house is well equipped and has amazing views. We had a few fires and played lots of games after we’d been out exploring the countryside – the show caves near Brecon, Hay, Hay Bluff, horse riding at Grange Farm and Capel-y-Fin.”

— the spearing family, october 2017


“Wonderful two weeks celebrating with family and friends – relaxing and nobody wanted to leave!  Beautiful accommodation, friendly hosts and a lovely location… will be back for another quiet weekend I’m sure. Thank you again.”

— duncan’s 50th, october 2017


“Excellent break in a wonderfully equipped house.  Lovely walks from the house into Hay. Great time.”

— the ashton keynes team, september 2017


“Lovely stay again! We all really enjoyed it and are looking forward to our stay next year.”

— the evans family, august 2017







“We could not have asked for a better place to stay for my good friend Cookie’s stag. We got incredibly fortunate with the weather but I think I speak for all of us when I say this house blew us away. An absolute privilege.“

— bowers and friends, september 2019

“Absolutely fantastic cottage. Beautiful location. So grateful to be able to be given this opportunity to stay in this marvelous place for my dad’s 60th. Definitely recommend to all friends and family. This is an absolute gem of a holiday home. It has catered for a family ranging from 4-60 years old. Anna, you have thought of everything. We all loved the Warren“

— spence and hurst family, august 2019

“Our second visit. Another family reunion, which was even more successful than the last. Everything was perfect. We certainly look to be back one day“

— The garretts, august 2019

“Thank you for a wonderful stay. Such a beautiful location. We have had a lovely long weekend relaxing and celebrating a 70th birthday“

— Grahame family, july 2019

“A wonderful few days in a perfect location. Thank you Anna and Julian for being great hosts and looking after us. We hope to come again..“

— Thomesett family, june 2019

“This is our second visit to these beautiful cottages. Wonderful views, amazing weather - We have been so lucky. “

— Herridge party, june 2019

“Thank you. We loved the cottages again. Many celebrations, lovely walks and memories. 60th wedding anniversary weekend.“

— The Paddons, july 2019

“Thank you for such a lovely welcome. The stay here has been so comfortable in a well equipped house. We are very fortunate to have found you and hope so much to return.  Such a wonderful location to stay.”   

— Julia, june 2019

“An Idyllic location and fantastic accommodation. We have all enjoyed our stay. Well equipped with things you wouldn’t have thought of. Hope we will see you again.”

— Su, john & co, april 2018


“A great Easter break in one of the cleanest and best equipped places we’ve stayed in. Fantastic attention to detail! The TV even came with a long HDMI cable so I could hook up to my laptop and watch Liverpool beat Manchester City in the Champions League final.  Very many thanks.”

— THe sewells of cardiff, APril 2018


“Excellent! So well provisioned, comfy beds and furniture. Clean and efficient. Well done and thanks.” 

— THe ting family, new year 2018


Meeting-House-in-spring-sunshine.JPG

“We all thoroughly enjoyed our week here. Thank you for all your help. They are lovely abodes with all the equipment you could possibly need and in a fabulous location.”

— THe barwick and symons family, August 2017