Recommended self-catering cottages near Hay-on-Wye
20140301_Trade 151_0278.jpg

Reviews

 
 

REVIEWS from our guest book

We had a fabulous week here. Superb accommodations. Everything provided and stunning views. David and Dorcas catered for us Saturday night which was great. We’ve been canoeing along the canal, helped pull out a dead sheep, had lovely walks from the house and around Hay. We’ll definitely look forward to coming back.” 

— THe cockayne family, june 2019

“Thank you Anna and family. Perfect hosts – amazing place. You have done an incredible job of renovating a building that needed TLC. We have all enjoyed the views and peace sooo much, we are coming back. We cannot fault the place or hosts – positively perfect!”

— THe WATSON GROUP, APril 2018

Meeting-House-in-snow.jpg

“What a lovely, comfortable homely house in such a beautiful setting. We had a family week of birthday celebrations as well as our Golden Wedding. Hay-on-Wye is unique – we could have spent several more days there – especially at Shepherds Ice Cream and Booth’s Bookshop. A lovely find for us was the Welsh Rarebit Centre at Defynnog, Brecon Beacons National Park. Our grand finale was our visit to the Brecon Steam Railway – scenic routes in bright, sunny spring weather (no rain all day!)”

— The white family, easter week 2018


"We stayed in Bryn Bwthyn in 2016 and were excited to return for another family gathering. The Meeting House was a lovely surprise upgrade. Really comfortable and well equipped with stunning views. Many thanks.”

— the howells family, february 2018


“Thank you for a wonderful stay! The house is amazing and we all loved it. We were here to celebrate a birthday as a family but there was also a surprise proposal of marriage as well. Lovely memories made.  Hope to come back soon.”

— the ting family, january 2018


“Thank you for a festive welcome. Everything we needed was here. We’ve had snowy, windy and sunny walks. We hope to come back in the future.”

— diving club group, new year 2017/8


“Thanks so much for a wonderful stay. Especially the generous hospitality including the arrival food and Christmas decorations, logs and the loan of sledges! We couldn’t have asked for more!”

— the haresign family, christmas 2017


“We all had a lovely time here. Great location and house. The dog loved it here also!”

— the langton group, november 2017


“Fantastic house. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Owners very accommodating. Hugely recommend.”

— sam’s 30th birthday, november 2017


“Another amazing time here again. Will be back again soon. Thank you x.”

— the owen family, november 2017


“What a lovely, cosy haven. We love the Meeting House and we’ll def be back! The house is well equipped and has amazing views. We had a few fires and played lots of games after we’d been out exploring the countryside – the show caves near Brecon, Hay, Hay Bluff, horse riding at Grange Farm and Capel-y-Fin.”

— the spearing family, october 2017


“Wonderful two weeks celebrating with family and friends – relaxing and nobody wanted to leave!  Beautiful accommodation, friendly hosts and a lovely location… will be back for another quiet weekend I’m sure. Thank you again.”

— duncan’s 50th, october 2017


“Excellent break in a wonderfully equipped house.  Lovely walks from the house into Hay. Great time.”

— the ashton keynes team, september 2017


“Lovely stay again! We all really enjoyed it and are looking forward to our stay next year.”

— the evans family, august 2017


“The entire family – 18 in all, 10 adults, 6 young and 2 babies. Just as well we had both cottages! Plenty of room. Amazingly good weather, unbeatable views and fabulous countryside and walking. Sad to leave.”

— the eld family, august 2017


“We had a wonderful family gathering celebrating two 60th birthdays, an engagement and a graduation! We loved the sociable kitchen and balcony with such wonderful views. Lovely walks both locally and Pen y Fan. Location catered for all our group with canoeing, rowing and even paragliding. A truly memorable week.  Many thanks.”

— the rossiter family, july 2017


“Thank you for the most glorious stay – loved the comfort and warm welcome, and Do! Do! Do! go running up those hills – the best start to a Hay day with spectacular views.”

— BBC World service team, hay festival week, may/june 2017



”Thank you so much Anna. We have had a fantastic weekend. Cottages were brilliant, plenty of room for 15, clean and sparkly!  Anna also gave us some great recommendations for places to eat and go. Could not have asked for a better weekend! Thank you!”  

— hayley’s hen, march 2017


“The houses and location are fantastic. I shall be recommending it to friends and family.”

— the parks group, february 2017


“What a lovely break in such a beautiful house and location. The views were tremendous and the walks to boot. Wouldn’t hesitate in booking again.”

— ashley, john, theresa and the gang, december 2016


“A lovely week here had by all! Stunning views from every window, lovely walk in the woods a must! Will be back again soon! Thank you so much.”

— the owens family, october 2016


“Superb location and lovely cottage. Hay Bluff, Hereford, Lord Hereford’s Knob, all fantastic. Meal at the Blue Boar, outstanding! Enough to keep 2x grannies busy plus all the fit ones. Fantastic week in a very warm house.”

— granny jean, granny lillian and families, october 2016


“Fantastic house for a family celebration weekend, very well equipped, fabulous views. Loved the balcony. A great find. Kids loved the pool room, barely saw them.”

— wallaces, smiths and williams, september 2016


“We did come back! Fab weather, great walking and socialising. Comfortable, well-equipped house and hospitable hosts. Thank you Anna. Looking forward to next year already.”

— the fishing group, september 2016


“We were all very happy here, from age 18 months upwards. We will be back – already planning!”

— the evans family, august 2016


“Thank you for a wonderful two weeks. It really felt like a home from home (with much better views!) The kids loved all of the toys and playing in the garden. It was great to have a BBQ and fire for warm evenings too. We are all sad to be leaving.”

— the fitch and sloane families, august 2016


“Thank you for the use of your beautiful house. The games room was a great bonus for the kids and the balcony with such a wonderful view was amazing. It was lovely to be greeted with fresh bread, eggs, milk and bara brith. Shepherds Café will be missed by all!”

— spencers and rileys, august 2016


“We all had a wonderful time. The house was very well equipped. We loved sitting outside to eat on the day the weather was kind – the views are beautiful. We enjoyed exploring Hay and the surrounding areas. We will be recommending you to family and friends back home. Thank you.”

— hurford jones, august 2016


“A wonderful break in a lovely house, we have laughed walked and eaten loads. Probably the best equipped house we have ever stayed in (including our own).”

— penberths, maggs and grants, july 2016


“A lovely ambience, a relaxing and unwinding haven with wonderful views. Had a wonderful family holiday with so much space and a superbly fitted out house .   Anna so helpful and friendly. Pat, Mike, Luna and friends.     June 2016

— pat, mike, luna and friends, june 2016


“What a fabulous week! The house is great – everything we needed and more.”

— the hughes family, christmas 2015


“Ideal holiday home in a beautiful location. Definitely recommend!”

— the humphreys family, december 2015


“It has been a truly wonderful holiday – it couldn’t have been better in any way, even the weather was utterly amazing!”

— the butler family, october 2014


“We loved dining on the balcony and would recommend it to all our friends.”

— the lang family, september 2014


“A beautiful house with panoramic views to die for.” 

— lisa and martin, august 2014


“Thank you. We loved the cottages again. Many celebrations, lovely walks and memories. 60th wedding anniversary weekend.“

— The Paddons, july 2019

“Thank you for such a lovely welcome. The stay here has been so comfortable in a well equipped house. We are very fortunate to have found you and hope so much to return.  Such a wonderful location to stay.”   

— Julia, june 2019

“An Idyllic location and fantastic accommodation. We have all enjoyed our stay. Well equipped with things you wouldn’t have thought of. Hope we will see you again.”

— Su, john & co, april 2018


“A great Easter break in one of the cleanest and best equipped places we’ve stayed in. Fantastic attention to detail! The TV even came with a long HDMI cable so I could hook up to my laptop and watch Liverpool beat Manchester City in the Champions League final.  Very many thanks.”

— THe sewells of cardiff, APril 2018


“Excellent! So well provisioned, comfy beds and furniture. Clean and efficient. Well done and thanks.” 

— THe ting family, new year 2018


Meeting-House-in-spring-sunshine.JPG

“We all thoroughly enjoyed our week here. Thank you for all your help. They are lovely abodes with all the equipment you could possibly need and in a fabulous location.”

— THe barwick and symons family, August 2017


“We had a fab time in both properties. Everything we could have wanted was supplied – loads of room so we could spread out. Had a couple of BBQs on the sun soaked verandah. Was great to be altogether in such a great location. The Welsh weather threw everything at us but it didn’t spoil anything for us.  Thank you!”

— THe billinges, pages and ramseys, July 2017


“Had my Hen weekend here with the girls. What a wonderful place! Thank you for all the special touches. Dorcus and David catered our Saturday night dinner and it was delicious – definitely recommend.  Definitely want to come back again and relive it all!”

— rebecca c (and hens), june 2017


“We had a great Hen party, such cosy comfy cottages and fully equipped. You guys do a great job. This place is a hidden gem.”

— THe hayleys, march 2017


“We had a great weekend here on a stag party. We went gorge walking in the Beacons and had a lovely meal at the Three Tuns. Perfect weekend.”

— bracken and the lads, february 2017


“We have had a fantastic Xmas break here. Very cosy, comfortable and warm with every extra that you could think of provided. Thank you Anna.”

— dawn, paul and family, christmas 2016


“We enjoyed our stay very much with our son, daughter in law and grandchildren. We also enjoyed the scenery and will return.”

— THe cowlrick family, december 2016


“Brilliant house. Enjoyed every bit of our stay. Will definitely visit again.”

— THe madan family, August 2016


“What a brilliant house! Excellent family time with Bryn Bwthyn a fantastic, spacious venue. Lovely walks in and around Hay. A great find. Many thanks for making our stay so easy.”

— THe howells family, August 2016


“We’ve had a lovely week. Great location near to Hay-on-Wye with plenty to do in and around the surrounding area. We enjoyed the spacious accommodation and eating meals together at the large dining room table.”

— ben, louisa, alison, richard and families, august 2016


“A wonderful stay in a wondeful area. Super spacious house with lovely comfortable beds – always a bonus!   All in all a fab week. Many thanks.”

— jeanette, steve and family, August 2016


“Had a fantastic time. Lots of space for us. Love the outdoor space too. Really close to everything we wanted.”

— donna’s hen, july 2016